Year 10 Literature – Creative Writing (from Holden’s perspective)

Here’s a piece of my writing from year 10 that I sort of liked.

I went to see this psychoanalyst guy. If you want to know the truth, I didn’t want to go. I really didn’t. My goddam parents thought that going to see some phony doctor was the greatest thing in the world. That was their idea of helping me. I mean they are probably trying to help and all but they really don’t have a clue Anyway, this guy, Dr. Watley was his name, was a real phony bastard. He just got a kick out of being the hotshot doctor who had everyone kissing his ass for help, you could tell. He started asking me all these goddam stupid questions. I mean when you’re feeling depressed as hell you really don’t feel like answering questions. I knew this guy at Whooton, James Donovan, who had really bad depression and all. The teacher would always be asking him what the hell was wrong. Old Donovan would never say much. One day when the teacher kept questioning him about what was wrong he got the hell out of class and we never saw him again. He just stormed straight out of the goddam school like a madman. Boy, did the class go silent. Even the teacher didn’t know what to do. I guess it’s not every day that someone just gets up in the middle of class and walks out. I mean it was pretty weird. I bet you no one even missed him or anything. They were probably all glad that he was gone. I really felt for poor old Donovan. I swear to God I felt sorry for him. He probably ran away and jumped off a goddam cliff or something because there was no one there to stop him. That sort of stuff makes me feel really depressed.

Anyway Old Watley kept asking me all these questions. He was having a helluva time. I was really getting a headache now. I was still feeling depressed as hell. Talking about all this stuff really didn’t help. He was a real moron. He was scribbling away at his notepad like a madman. You should’ve seen him. You would’ve thought he was writing a goddam thesis or something the way he was getting into that notepad. I wonder what he thought of me. Actually, I was pretty interested. I reckon he thought I was a goddam psycho. Old Watley would probably go home to his wife and tell her how he was trying to help all these psychotic lunatics and how it was such a tough and important job to help these people and all. She probably thought he was a really good guy. You couldn’t blame her I suppose. He did know how to shoot the bull. You should’ve heard what he was asking me.

‘Do you think you will apply yourself if you go back to school?’ That killed me. It really did. It was such a stupid question. Only a moron could ask a question like that. How would I know what I am going to do in the future? I didn’t.

‘I don’t know. I mean I think I will apply myself. Really, no kidding, I think I will.’

6 responses to this post.

  1. I like it. It reminds me of Flowers for Algernon!

    Reply

  2. Haha thanks a lot mate 🙂 Maybe I will read it one day – it’s on my long list of things to do.

    Reply

  3. Posted by TyErd on 01/06/2010 at 5:59 pm

    Mate I love it. Is being an author on the agenda cos bloody hell you are great writer. You could write a sequel for the first one and people would think you were J.D Salinger. Keep up the great work man, I’d definitely love to read more of your short story type pieces.

    Reply

  4. Thanks for the feedback mate, really appreciate it. I’m no writer though, I don’t have that ability to quickly and coherently express something, this did take a lot of time and research. But yes I will definitely share more of my work and thanks once again. Love your user name by the way 🙂

    Reply

  5. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this fantastic blog! I guess for now i’ll settle
    for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google
    account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this blog
    with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

    Reply

  6. Thanks, Rosemary! My poor blog really has been neglected, but it’s nice to be reminded of it once in a while.

    I noticed you’re from Warrandyte. That’s a lovely place and not too far away!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

